Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

This weeks photo challenge got me thinking about what the sea really means to me, how does it make me feel… there are so many emotions the sea evokes. When I have been away from it for a while, I miss it, I feel it’s pull… it makes me feel calm, peaceful, able to breathe deeply… renewed, alive, invigorated and full of life’s possibilities.  

The photo below was taken on a beach we had stumbled upon quite by accident (sometimes the best kind) whilst looking for a completely different one!  The perfect afternoon turned into a glorious evening with an amazing sunset which I couldn’t capture because my camera battery died!  Gutted and lesson learned!

I could sit for hours, listening to the waves breaking on the sand... staring out at the distant horizon...  life is beautiful!

I could sit for hours, listening to the waves breaking on the sand… staring out at the distant horizon… life and the world is beautiful!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. basiga
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 18:00:44

    Breathtaking!

    Reply

  2. Multifarious meanderings
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 18:22:15

    Devon? (MM whistles innocently). Gorgeous picture- I love the sea too, but real sea like the one in your picture, not the puddle we have here in the Med.

    Reply

  3. newbloggycat
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 02:38:19

    Beautiful! Just listening to the waves break is therapeutic. Feels like it’s washing all your troubles away 🙂

    Reply

  4. ribsy83
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 12:13:37

    What an amazing scene.

    Reply

  5. janaline's world journey
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 14:01:22

    Beautiful photo! I alos love listening to the sound of the ocean, it is so peaceful and soothing.

    Reply

  6. Rachael
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 19:17:36

    Lovely. I share your feelings. I was brought up by the sea but only realised how much it meant to me when I moved away.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Joe's Musings
  8. mybeautfulthings
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 17:23:55

    I love the sea too, but of course, you know that! 🙂

    Reply

Would love to know your thoughts...

Quotes that speak to my soul…

"Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving.
What you have caught on film is captured forever...
it remembers little things,
long after you have forgotten everything." - Aaron Siskind

"You become things, you become an atmosphere, and if you become it, which means you incorporate it within you, you can also give it back. You can put this feeling into a picture. A painter can do it. And a musician can do it and I think a photographer can do that too and that I would call the dreaming with open eyes." - Ernst Haas

"Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by Dogma - which is living with the results of other people's thinking. Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most importantly, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary."
- Steve Jobs

“To photograph is to hold one's breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality. It's at that precise moment that mastering an image becomes a great physical and intellectual joy.”
- Henri Cartier-Bresson

“For me, the camera is a sketch book, an instrument of intuition and spontaneity.”
― Henri Cartier-Bresson

“Above all, life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference”
― Robert Frank