Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life

This weeks photo challenge is all about ‘street life’… the only recent street life photos I’ve taken were all in or around Brick Lane and I think I’ve posted enough of those for now!  So I decided to use some from a holiday in France back in 2011!  

Hope you enjoy them…

For other great entries click here!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda ♥ Unique So Chic
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 18:38:43

    I cant enjoy your pics until I know this. Why is that beautiful Wheaten Terrier sat on a shelf? Surely not for sale in such a way?…

    Reply

    • The Amateur Camera
      Mar 31, 2014 @ 18:41:43

      No he wasn’t for sale, he was just sitting there while his owner sorted out the flowers and plants he was selling… he looked as if he was use to it but we felt a little sorry for him… the arm you can see next to him is my son’s, he was giving him a cuddle!

      Reply

      • Amanda ♥ Unique So Chic
        Mar 31, 2014 @ 18:52:33

        Oh thank goodness!!! Having Wheatens myself I know their amazing characters. They are so human its unreal!
        Still, I agree he looks quite sad. Thank goodness for your son giving him a much needed cuddle. Sometimes travelling (and the sights you see) can be very painful!

        Reply

        • The Amateur Camera
          Mar 31, 2014 @ 18:56:49

          True indeed! I think if he had been for sale we would now be the proud owners of a Wheaten aswel as a Mutley German Shepherd as I doubt we would’ve been able to leave him there and walk away! 🙂

          Reply

  2. Amanda ♥ Unique So Chic
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 19:45:51

    My sentiments exactly! and it warms my heart to know how much you care. 🙂

    Reply

    • The Amateur Camera
      Mar 31, 2014 @ 20:26:18

      Oh I’m a big softie! Once when I was little, a shop had a whole shelf of brown teddy bears and a sign up saying they were going to be ‘disposed of’ if they weren’t sold… of course I wouldn’t leave the shop without my mum buying one so I’m surprised I don’t have a whole house full of live animals! Pretty below the belt sales tactics though eh! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Life is great
  4. Trackback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life | Life is great
  5. Trackback: Street life: family through the eyes of a stranger | Shaking the tree
  6. newbloggycat
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 05:09:50

    Cool pics! Love the cute little guy on display 😉

    Reply

  7. Tina Schell
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 13:24:05

    My granddaughter especially liked the little dog on the shelf! Better there than home alone 🙂

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Cape Cod Roads (Part 2) | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"
  9. Multifarious meanderings
    May 19, 2014 @ 14:31:12

    I do like the Narnia flautist (he’s very modern though – the electricity board van is parked just behind him). The poor dog doesn’t look very confortable on that shelf. The yin and yang pigeon photo is lovely.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: “Street Life” | My Atheist Blog

Would love to know your thoughts...

Quotes that speak to my soul…

"Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving.
What you have caught on film is captured forever...
it remembers little things,
long after you have forgotten everything." - Aaron Siskind

"You become things, you become an atmosphere, and if you become it, which means you incorporate it within you, you can also give it back. You can put this feeling into a picture. A painter can do it. And a musician can do it and I think a photographer can do that too and that I would call the dreaming with open eyes." - Ernst Haas

"Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by Dogma - which is living with the results of other people's thinking. Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most importantly, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary."
- Steve Jobs

“To photograph is to hold one's breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality. It's at that precise moment that mastering an image becomes a great physical and intellectual joy.”
- Henri Cartier-Bresson

“For me, the camera is a sketch book, an instrument of intuition and spontaneity.”
― Henri Cartier-Bresson

“Above all, life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference”
― Robert Frank

