Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

For this week’s challenge I decided I would post a couple of pictures of my eldest son on his 18th birthday, December 2013. Here he is opening some of his gifts, still a boy in so many ways… but on the threshold of manhood!

My son's 18th birthday and the threshold from boy to man!

My son’s 18th birthday and the threshold from boy to man!

Having just opened one of his 18th birthday presents... all smiles because he got the guitar he wanted that I'd been telling him he wasn't getting because it was too expensive!

Having just opened one of his gifts… all smiles because he got the guitar he wanted that I’d been telling him he wasn’t getting because it was too expensive!

“A threshold is a point of entering; that point just before a new beginning — that split-second moment in time, full of anticipation. All the hard work is over; relief is palpable.”

To see other entries click here!

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. newbloggycat
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 02:55:38

    A very handsome looking young man 😉

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Threshold – And into the lock |
  3. Trackback: From old to new | Words 'n Pics
  4. Multifarious meanderings
    May 19, 2014 @ 14:26:32

    Well, what a fine young man. Ah-hem. I bet you were all emotional that day. I’ll be needing the Prozac soon too – Bigfoot’s coming up to 18 and ready to fly the coop in a few months. Sniff.

    Reply

    • The Amateur Camera
      May 19, 2014 @ 18:54:23

      It was a very emotional day yes… but he’s not flying off anywhere just yet so will be around a while yet! My youngest son is turning 16 on Wednesday, so another milestone there! I take it Bigfoot’s off to Uni then? My daughter went to Uni in Cornwall and has been living in Madrid since last September, she’ll be back in June and is then planning to fly off to Chile so I won’t see her until Christmas the following year once she’s gone! 😦 think I’ll need the Prozac then… or at the very least some comforting from Mr Merlot! 🙂

      Reply

Would love to know your thoughts...

Quotes that speak to my soul…

"Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving.
What you have caught on film is captured forever...
it remembers little things,
long after you have forgotten everything." - Aaron Siskind

"You become things, you become an atmosphere, and if you become it, which means you incorporate it within you, you can also give it back. You can put this feeling into a picture. A painter can do it. And a musician can do it and I think a photographer can do that too and that I would call the dreaming with open eyes." - Ernst Haas

"Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by Dogma - which is living with the results of other people's thinking. Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most importantly, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary."
- Steve Jobs

“To photograph is to hold one's breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality. It's at that precise moment that mastering an image becomes a great physical and intellectual joy.”
- Henri Cartier-Bresson

“For me, the camera is a sketch book, an instrument of intuition and spontaneity.”
― Henri Cartier-Bresson

“Above all, life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference”
― Robert Frank