Daily Prompt: Reflections…

These were taken last Tuesday on a steam train ride from Paignton to Dartmouth in Devon… I think they go quite well with today’s Daily Prompt theme!

IMG_2311

Steam trains bring out ‘The Railway Children’ kid in me! (Film from my childhood!)

Same train, just different depth of field!

Same train, different view & depth of field!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ribsy83
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 15:31:07

    That’s an amazing picture, I saw it and immediately thought of ‘The Railway Children’ too.

    Reply

    • theamateurcamera
      Aug 14, 2013 @ 15:45:46

      Thank you! Glad someone else remembers the film… always gave me a lump in my throat and made me cry at the end when she calls out ‘Daddy, my Daddy!’ and runs to him… I remember watching it with my sister when we were little, wonderful memories! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Trackback: How do we see ourselves? | New Visions
  3. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall | The Story of a Guy
  4. Trackback: Reflections… | The Rider
  5. Trackback: My top five things my blog can tell you about me… | My Top Fives...
  6. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Mirror Mirror on the wall, does my blog tell it all? | jennifermarshcurtis
  7. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall | My Atheist Blog
  8. Trackback: Multiple personality disorder…or multiple order personality? | Embroid Yourself
  9. newbloggycat
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 03:20:51

    What a beautiful picture! Like the reflection of the train and view πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  10. thehappyhugger
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 16:42:35

    I love your reflections!

    Reply

  11. Lynne Revette Butler
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 12:47:40

    Great shots; easy to see why you are on the PN Awards list. My grandparents lived in Scotland; we travelled on the steam sleeper train to visit them for summer holidays so you have brought back good memories for me too.

    Reply

  12. Pecora Nera
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 18:26:21

    Clever photos… πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Su Leslie
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 20:06:02

    Oh what fabulous photos. I’m smiling at the thought of you taking them. Brilliant!

    Reply

Would love to know your thoughts...

Quotes that speak to my soul…

"Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving.
What you have caught on film is captured forever...
it remembers little things,
long after you have forgotten everything." - Aaron Siskind

"You become things, you become an atmosphere, and if you become it, which means you incorporate it within you, you can also give it back. You can put this feeling into a picture. A painter can do it. And a musician can do it and I think a photographer can do that too and that I would call the dreaming with open eyes." - Ernst Haas

"Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by Dogma - which is living with the results of other people's thinking. Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most importantly, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary."
- Steve Jobs

β€œTo photograph is to hold one's breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality. It's at that precise moment that mastering an image becomes a great physical and intellectual joy.”
- Henri Cartier-Bresson

β€œFor me, the camera is a sketch book, an instrument of intuition and spontaneity.”
― Henri Cartier-Bresson

β€œAbove all, life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference”
― Robert Frank

