Pigeon… In My Lounge!!!

I had just made myself a lovely lunch and a cup of green tea… everything was arranged and I was just about to get comfy to enjoy some peace and quiet… apparently not!

I heard some noise in the fireplace and upon inspection found some soot had fallen out and onto the rug… as I stood and watched, more and more kept falling down and out in front of me.  There was a few moments of nothing then again more fell out… Ohhh nooo… I looked at Mutley, Mutley looked at me… and promptly took off upstairs!  Fine protector she is!!!

I was left looking at the fireplace and said out loud “please don’t let anything dead fall out!” and then “actually, no, please don’t let anything live fall out!!!”  Literally two seconds later a pigeon landed unceremoniously in the fireplace and took flight into the room, missing my head by two inches as I ducked and ran for the door!  I flew for my camera whilst screeching to my son… “There’s a pigeon flying around the lounge!”

Doesn't look too ruffled or dirty... all things considered!

Doesn’t look too ruffled or dirty… all things considered!

My son arrived on the scene a little bleary eyed and dishevelled, having just woken up (he’s 17… say no more) armed only with an old childhood dressing up Spiderman glove, recently found in a loft clearout!

Spiderman glove meets pigeon and my son says... "Ah, can we keep him?!"

Spiderman glove meets pigeon, pigeon’s thinking ‘what the hell is that?’ and my son says… “Ah, can we keep him?!”

Flash back… to when he wanted a German Shepherd and promised to walk her and pick up her poop… Ha! Not falling for that one again!

Decided he doesn't like Spiderman glove!

Decided he doesn’t like Spiderman glove…

Taking off after the Spiderman touch!

… and takes off only to fly straight into conservatory door!

Looking out of my blinds to freedom, whilst pacing up and down... and pooping!

Looking out of my blinds to freedom, whilst pacing up and down on the back of my sofa … and pooping on my hand stitched Indian throw!

Mutley... proved to be a bit of a 'fraidy cat!

Mutley… proved to be a bit of a ‘fraidy cat!

Of course after she realised it was only a bird, not something sinister and could hear it flapping around she tried her best to get back into the room, nearly tripping me up everytime I retreated with my camera when the pigeon flew in my direction… he had already proved he wasn’t great at navigating!

All wrapped up and ready to go!

All wrapped up and ready to go!

Armed now with some more sensible gloves, my son managed after several attempts to throw my youngest son’s jacket over the pigeon so that he could pick it up and carry it out…

First flight of freedom... my son ducking to the left while pigeon makes a break for it to the right!

Making a break for freedom!

My son ducks to the left while the pigeon makes a break for it to the right!

I'm free, I'm free!

I’m free, I’m free!

He looks a bit bewildered but focused on his destination towards the rooftops and hopefully away from chimneys… mine anyway! 🙂

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Green Embers
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 23:13:33

    Hahaha, love it! Gotta say that pigeon looks kind of chubby, I think he and I would be best of pals.

    Reply

  2. zannyro
    Jun 29, 2013 @ 00:28:05

    Awwwwww…lucky, lucky bird…smart thinking son to throw a jacket….what an adventure!!

    Reply

  3. lisatenzindolma
    Jun 29, 2013 @ 09:27:32

    Love it, Tracey! Well done for setting him free (though Mutley’s reaction was funny!). Great photos! 🙂

    Reply

  4. newbloggycat
    Jun 29, 2013 @ 14:45:28

    This is awesome…a pigeon paying you a visit. It could be an angel 🙂 Did you know that pigeons symbolize peace?

    Reply

  5. Our Adventure in Croatia
    Jun 29, 2013 @ 18:14:17

    so no pigeon stew for dinner?… 😉

    Reply

  6. Multifarious meanderings
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 13:32:07

    He’s a well chubby pigeon; i’m not surprised he fell down the chimney! We get bats flying out of ours, it’s like something out of Scooby Doo 🙂

    Reply

Would love to know your thoughts...

Quotes that speak to my soul…

"Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving.
What you have caught on film is captured forever...
it remembers little things,
long after you have forgotten everything." - Aaron Siskind

"You become things, you become an atmosphere, and if you become it, which means you incorporate it within you, you can also give it back. You can put this feeling into a picture. A painter can do it. And a musician can do it and I think a photographer can do that too and that I would call the dreaming with open eyes." - Ernst Haas

"Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by Dogma - which is living with the results of other people's thinking. Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most importantly, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary."
- Steve Jobs

“To photograph is to hold one's breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality. It's at that precise moment that mastering an image becomes a great physical and intellectual joy.”
- Henri Cartier-Bresson

“For me, the camera is a sketch book, an instrument of intuition and spontaneity.”
― Henri Cartier-Bresson

“Above all, life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference”
― Robert Frank